follow us onyou tube facebook In

Home \ JCI Worldwide \ JCI Presidents

JCI Presidents

2012 JCI President Bertolt Daems

Bertolt Daems, nominated by JCI the Netherlands, was elected 2012 JCI (Junior Chamber International) President at the 2011 JCI World Congress held in Brussels, Belgium.

Born in January 1973 in Nijmegen, the Netherlands, Daems holds a master’s degree in building construction and is CEO of a management consultancy company called RnR Group. The company oversees large construction projects with a focus on social enterprise initiatives including education, healthcare, water and ecology, urbanization, mobility, infrastructure, governance, safety and peace.


RnR Group also works closely with the government and citizens to ensure a successful triple bottom line; people, profit and planet. Daems resides in Wageningen, the Netherlands, with his wife Véronique, their twin sons Rutger and Rogier and daughter Fabienne.

Daems joined JCI in November 2003, and was one of the founders of his JCI Local Organization, JCI Mariken, which was formally recognized in January 2004 when Daems became Local Vice President. He served as Local President in 2005 and Secretary General of JCI the Netherlands in 2006. In 2007, he became Executive Vice President of Growth and Development of JCI the Netherlands and also served on the Board of the 2007 JCI European Conference in Maastricht, the Netherlands. In 2008, he was elected Deputy President and assumed the National Presidency of JCI the Netherlands after the departure of the elected National President.

At the international level, Daems has served as 2009 JCI Vice President assigned to Europe and 2010 JCI Executive Vice President for Europe. In 2011, Daems was Chief Executive Assistant to 2011 JCI President Kentaro Harada. He has attended 11 JCI Area Conferences and four JCI World Congresses. He has been honored as JCI Senator No. 68118 and speaks English, German and Dutch.

As JCI President, Daems believes that, in a world facing so many challenges, a critical mass of young active citizens is needed now more than ever to provide solutions to global problems. In a highly interdependent world, it is the responsibility of JCI to engage young people to take the future of their communities, their countries and the world at large into their own hands.


JCI empowers young people with the tools, resources and opportunities to create change through targeted action. President Daems will help members translate their passion for positive change into concrete actions that ultimately make the world a better place for all its citizens.


2011 Kentaro Harada (Japan)
2010 Roland Kwemain (Cameroon)
2009 Jun Sup Shin (Korea)
2008 Graham Hanlon (Ireland)
2007 Scott Greenlee (USA)
2006 Lars Hajslund (Denmark)
2005 Kevin Cullinane (Ireland)
2004 Fernando Sanchez-Arias (Venezuela)
2003 Bruce Rector (USA)
2002 Salvador "Salvi" Battle (Catalonia)
2001 Georges Bouverat (Switzerland)
2000 Karyn Fenton-Ellis (New Zealand)
1999 Yong Suk Choi (Korea)
1998 Petri Niskanen (Finland)
1997 Crispin C. Dy Jr. (Philippines)
1996 Thomas J. Clear III (USA)
1995 David Hide Oji (Japan)
1994 Arnaud Godere (Mauritius)
1993 Robby Dawkins (USA)
1992 Albert Hiribarrondo (France)
1991 Reginald C.J. Schaumans (Belgium)
1990 Jorge Suncar M. (Dominican Republic)
1989 Isfahani Sameen (Sri Lanka)
1988 Jennifer C.W. Yu (Hong Kong)
1987 Philip R. Berry (USA)
1986 Moncef Barouni (Tunisia)
1985 Victor J. "Chichos" Luciano (Philippines)
1984 Joe Murphy (Ireland)
1983 Kjell Peterson (Guam)
1982 Barry L. Kennedy (USA)
1981 Genichi "Gary" Nagao (Japan)
1980 Patricio Izurieta (Ecuador)
1979 Kumar P. Gera (India)
1978 Carl Peterson (Guam)
1977 Ronald G.S. Au (USA)
1976 Feliciano Belmonte, Jr. (Philippines)
1975 Jean-Claude Feraud (France)
1974 A. Jay Smith (USA)
1973 L.A. Roy Banarsee (West Indies)
1972 Royce R. Pepin (Australia)
1971 Graham Sinclair (New Zealand)
1970 Hiroshi Maeda (Japan)
1969 Thomas E. Gates (USA)
1968 Philippe Abravanel (Switzerland)
1967 Clifford E. Myatt (Puerto Rico)1966 Edward A. Merdes (USA)
1965 John L. Rundle (Australia)
1964 Conrad E. O'Brien (Trinidad, West Indies)
1963 Eric H. Stevenson (Scotland)
1962 Leslie M. Perrott, Jr. (Australia)
1961 Peter Frankel (Brazil)
1960 Milton Zapata (Puerto Rico)
1959 Maurice Sexton (New Zealand)
1958 Alberto Philippe (Mexico)
1957 Ira D. Kaye (USA)
1956 Arnaldo De Oliveira Sales (Hong Kong)
1955 Peter B. Watts (New Zealand)
1954 Douglas L. Hoge (USA)
1953 Roberto Villanueva (Philippines)
1952 Philip T.R. Pugsley (Canada)
1951 Ramon V. del Rosario (Philipines)
1950 Theo Staar (Belgium)
1949 Victor Boucas (Brazil)
1948 Taylor Cole (USA)
1947 Erasmo Chambonnet (Panama)
1946 Raul Garcia Vidal (Mexico)